Hindi is the simplest source of expression of our nation.” – Sumitra Nandan Pant 

India celebrates September 14 as – Hindi Diwas or Hindi Day to commemorate the adoption of Hindi as one of the official languages of India. Over 120 languages use Devanagari Script, and Hindi is one of them. India is a nation of diversity, and languages are also diverse, and it has a rich linguistic history, so Hindi was supposed to unite this country as one. Hindi is also known as the Mother Tongue of Indians.

On September 14, 1947, Hindi was declared as the official language of India. The Constituent Assembly of the Republic of India adopted this resolution in 1950. It all happened because of the continuous efforts of Beohar Rajendra Simha along with Kaka Kelkar, Seth Govind Das, Maithili Sharan Gupt, and Hazari Prasad Dwivedi.

There are 22 Scheduled Languages of India, of which, Hindi and English are officially in use at the Union level. Today, more than 250 million speaks modern Hindi as a first language, in a country of more than 1.8 Billion. So this ratio is 1/8 of the total people of this country. So yes, Hindi unites the nation, and it will continue uniting the country!

India celebrated the first Hindi Diwas/Day on September 14, 1953. And, since then, many ceremonies happen on this day to embrace one of the most popular languages in the world. For example, the former president of India, Pranab Mukharjee, awarded people in different categories for excellence in diverse areas regarding Hindi, at a celebration in Vigyan Bhavan in New Delhi

Annually the Rajya Sabha awards are presented to the Ministries, Departments, PSUs, and Nationalised Banks. Also, the institutions, schools, colleges, and groups organize numerous celebrations like Poetry competition, Essay writing, Singing, and Speech. 

All these celebrations happen to encourage people to understand the importance, usage, and versatility of Hindi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here